Chef in my Kitchen











{April 5, 2009}   Risotto with Shrimps and mushrooms

risotto

Don’t let the title of my blog mislead you.  I am by no way a Chef, just a wife and mom trying to please my family.

This is my first blog post and I was motivated to start blogging from Ivy, at Kopiaste.. to Greek Hospitality. I have been reading her blog for a while and recently joined BloggerAid.

Ivy, together with two other lovely ladies, Giz, at Equal Opportunity Kitchen and Val, at More than Burnt Toast created this Social Network to bring awareness about hunger.  They are also going to publish a Cookbook by the end of the year and all money will be going to School Meals, a programme of the World Food Programme.

I bookmarked this recipe from Ivy’s blog and my whole family and I have been enjoying it as I have made it more than once.

I saw some events going on at BloggerAid and decided to write my first post and participate at these events.

Risotto with Shrimps and Mushrooms

Recipe adapted from Ivy’s blog

Preparation time:  10 minutes

Cooking time:  25 minutes

Serves: 5

Ingredients:

  • 500 grams Arborio rice
  • 1 kilo frozen shrimps
  • 5 mushrooms, sliced
  • 4 ripe tomatoes grated
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 5 tablespoons, olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons, balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • Chicken stock (about 4 cups)

Directions:

1. In a large skillet heat the olive oil and sauté mushrooms.  Remove and set aside.

2.  Add onion and garlic and sauté until translucent.

3.  Add the rice and sauté for a few minutes.  Add the wine and vinegar and mix.

4.  Season with salt and pepper.

5.  Add the tomatoes and mix and start adding the chicken stock gradually.  When it is absorbed continue adding and mixing.

6.  Five minutes before the rice is ready, add the shrimps and the mushrooms and keep adding stock and mixing.

7.  Remove from the heat and serve while hot.

I am sending this recipe to Srivali, at Cooking 4 all Seasons, who is hosting the event Monthly Mingle 31, Kids’ Lunches, event started by Meeta.

mm-kidslunches

Ivy says:

Hi Lisa. I am glad that you finally decided to start posting and I am honoured that you chose one of my recipes. Thanks also for the mention of BloggerAid. Your twist to my recipe sounds great. Good luck with your new blog. I shall add you to my reader and blogroll.



Srivalli says:

well..I am happy you started and honored to have your entry!..looking fwd to your dishes!



Lisa says:

Thanks Ivy and Srivalli.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

